I give it my awl! (Or how to make holes in leather)

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

mountainm

Bushcrafter through and through
Jan 12, 2011
Selby
www.mikemountain.co.uk
b54426183b842bc587c11f873d85c247.jpg

Thought I'd share some of the ways i make holes in leather for stitching purposes. Note I'm somewhat self taught so there may be better ways or different names for things.

On the left, stitching pincers. I have 2 gauges of these and though they may lack a bit of finesse they make hole making really quick and neat. They are limited by width of the leather and distance from edge.

On the right, top down.

Finger drill. Rarely used these days but good for getting through lots of layers.

Stitching awl. Bought when I knew very little. Useful only really for canvas.

Pricking awl. Good for punching through, Mark making and hole widening.

Adapted "spade end awl" - one bought on this forum (from everything Mac if I recall) as a diamond awl and adapted by myself into a tiny blade end. Probably my most used awl. The spade end cutting edge I put on it is stronger and takes more welly than a standard Diamond awl. It is harder to be accurate with though.

Diamond awl. Very sharp at the tip. Rounded edges further up as to not cut the leather. Good all rounder i have these in several sizes.

Close ups of the 2 awls (Diamond and spade end)
4187df1b8842584fb14074968e22cc31.jpg

Last edited:

Robbi

Mar 1, 2009
northern ireland
Holes ! :)

something close to my heart and a source of frustration.