How to season wood

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

bp1974

Tenderfoot
May 11, 2005
London
Well, I am now the new owner of several long pieces of lacewood. They are very green, and I have no experience of seasoning wood so I have some questions.

I've done a bit of Googling and found out that lacewood dries out quickly and doesn't crack easily, and I'm unsure how to go about seasoning it fairly quickly without damaging it.

I put a small test piece in the oven at 60 C for about six hours and it dried out well until the last hour or so, when a couple of small cracks appeared. So I won't be doing that again. Is using an oven to dry the wood out a good idea or should I let it dry out on its own?

weekend_warrior

Jun 21, 2005
North London
Dunno much about commercial seasoning, but we used to cut the green wood into rough planks and stack 'em in a sheltered spot outside with timber fillets between the planks to create an air gap, then left them for 6-9 months.. Worked very well with little wastage

Marts

Native
May 5, 2005
London
This might be of some use:

Mechanical Properties
Medium strength in most categories. Low stiffness makes it an excellent steam bending wood.

Working Properties
Works well with hand and machine tools, but there is moderate blunting effect on cutters and a tendency to bind in saws. Glues well, stains and polishes, with care, to an excellent finish.

Durability
Perishable. The sapwood is liable to attack by common furniture beetle, but is permeable for preservative treatment.

Seasoning
Dries rapidly without much splitting but has a tendency to distort. There is small movement in service.

Uses
Furniture, cabinetmaking, joinery, light construction, panelling, ornamental inlay, decorative uses. Excellent for turning fancy goods.

Sapwood Color
The narrow sapwood is almost white in color.