How to cook bannock?

nigeltm

Aug 8, 2008
south Wales
Finally, some time without my kids or having to go into work! Waterbottle, filtration kit, some other bits and pieces into a pouch with some dry bannock mix and off to the woods.

But, it's my first time cooking bannock over a campfire and it didn't go quite to plan! It fell off the stick and stck to the crusader mug :(

So, what is the best way to cook bannock?

Jul 15, 2006
Nil
I generally cook it in a lightly oiled frying pan on a bed of good hot embers - about 7 minutes a side, depending on how thick you make it, turning as necessary.

My recipe:

Base mixture.........

2 parts plain flour
2 parts milk powder
1 teaspoon of baking powder
+ just enough water to bind the mixture into a just moist dough

Then add whatever you want, grated cheese, sultanas, hedgerow berries, chopped fried bacon, ham, etc, etc!

If I'm doing a "sweet" bannock, I usually add a heaped teaspoon of sugar and/or drizzle a bit of honey over it.

I spead it out so that it's about half an inch or so thick in the pan and it usually ends up about an inch thick when it's cooked.

spamel

Banned
Feb 15, 2005
Silkstone, Blighty!
There are methods on the front page of the site, Hoodoos' recipe seems to be the best. Scruff makes it but substitutes water with stout! You get a proper nice puffed up bannock, and the addition of a few spices such as chili and cumin seeds makes it a taste sensation.

British Red

M.A.B (Mad About Bushcraft)
Dec 30, 2005
Mercia
Or make a batter and fry it as american style pancakes. Womble up a few blackberries and a drizzle of maple syrup - makes a cracking breakfast. I often bake it inside a durch oven - for sweet I add brown sugar and wahtever berries are about

Tadpole

Nov 12, 2005
Bristol
My way
make your bannoch as per John Fenna's mix and instructions. (found on this site)
fry up four or more rashers of good dry cure bacon (set aside)