How Do I Sharpen Kukri?

The Cumbrian

Nov 10, 2007
The Rainy Side of the Lakes.
I've acquired what appears to be a WWII issue Kukri. The sheath is pretty knackered, but the handle and blade are reasonable condition, considering that it appears to have been kept in a damp shed for the last 70 years.

The blade has been chrome plated (not uncommon according to the internet) and badly sharpened in the past, and I'd like to restore it to be a good working tool like they are supposed to be.

As there is quite a bit of the chrome plating missing, I might want to remove this, but that isn't a priority. I would like to get it very sharp though. While I'm pretty good at getting my scandi ground knives sharp, I'm not very good with other grinds, and I have no experience of sharpening concave edges.

Any advice will be much appreciated.

Cheers, Michael.

The Cumbrian

Nov 10, 2007
The Rainy Side of the Lakes.
Thanks for the reply.

I've seen that too, but that appeared to be on a Kukri with a blade that was pretty sharp already. The belly of the blade on mine is in quite good condition, but the convex part of the blade has been badly sharpened in the past, and I'd like to get it back to somewhere near the original grind.

Cheers, Michael.

The problem with these blades is that they are zone hardened. So the bulk of the steel is left totally soft and only the edge area is hard. If it's been sharpened on a bench grinder then bets are off. If it's been badly sharpened by hand then there should be lots of hard metal left to work with.
Basically you remove any chrome etc, to 1/2" behind the edge and polish this. You are not reprofiling at this point, simply cleaning the metal. Then you rub that area with strong vinegar. You will see a line develop which marks the spot where hardened metal meets soft. This is called the hamon line, and will show how much hardened steel is left at the edge.
Tell us what you see and lots of advice should be available from there.