Have I killed my F1?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

eskimo

Need to contact Admin...
Dec 1, 2006
Humberside
Yesterday my Nephews Fallkniven F1 arrived and I was amazed how much sharper it was than mine.

I decided to try sharpening mine with a DC4 stone. I have never done this before so watched a few tutorials on youtube. However after 30 minutes of fumbling around, dropping the stone, not been able to get the angles right etc. I have a knife that is blunter than before.

A few days ago I bought my nephew a Sabre 35 pack and a turboflame lighter from Lakeland Bushcraft and their service was excellent so have been back on their site to look at sharpening kits.

They have a Spydeco Sharpmaker at around £57 and I wonder if this can help save my knife??

Has anyone used them? Are they worth the money?

Alternativly are there any places I can send my knife to be professionally resharpened?

Thanks

Calculon

Tenderfoot
Jul 17, 2008
Old South Wales
IMHO It's very difficult to sharpen a scandi grind without getting a secondary bevel if you don't know what you're doing.

I know :banghead:

There are a lot of excellent knowledgeable members on here, but if no joy go to British Blades.

Calc

forestwalker

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
IIRC the F1 has a two part grind (use a magnifyer to look at the "good" one)? And the DC4 is a small stone, best seen as a field epedient tool, not your main one. Get some suitable wet-dry sandpaper and glue to a piece of plywood. The plywood is not flat enought to e.g. a plane blade -- many woodworkers use float glass or a chunk of granite countertop --- but fine for a knife. Dirt cheap and plenty big.