hammock question

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

spiritwalker

Native
Jun 22, 2009
wirral
ok i picked up a DD scout hammock which i dont plan to use for camping but to set up as a semi permanent garden dwelling for lazying about next to my fire pit. Going to set in some posts and shackles in spring, my question is this model (maybe all do i have no experience of them to be honest) has a double layer is that for strength or is it for a mat to go underneath or is it mean as a cover like a cocoon? and if so is it ok over your face i.e. breathable?

my gut tells me its for a mat but im not sure...:confused:

copper_head

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Feb 22, 2006
Hull
Well your right twice, you can use it as a cocoon but generally I think its purpose is a matt pocket. It'll be fine to breathe through, although laying on your front in a hammock might make your back a little upset with you! :D

Big Stu 12

Bushcrafter through and through
Jan 7, 2012
Ipswich
Just coppied this from DD hammocks site.. in the more info for the product

"DD Camping Hammocks - come with 2 zippers (on 1 zip) for easy entry/ exit and strong webbing attached.

The DD Camping Hammock is lightweight, compact and comfortable.

Its features include a two layer design which allows cocoon-like sleeping. Alternatively, you can lie out in the open (on top of both layers) with the option to put a thermarest/pad between the layers as insulation in winter.
Sets up/packs up in under a minute and packs away into stuff sack provided (size when packed approx 30cm x 10cm)."

Hope it helps

Big Stu 12

Bushcrafter through and through
Jan 7, 2012
Ipswich
Just coppied this from DD hammocks site.. in the more info for the product

"DD Camping Hammocks - come with 2 zippers (on 1 zip) for easy entry/ exit and strong webbing attached.