Good mushrooming book

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Big Bad Stu

Nomad
Jul 18, 2006
Shropshire
I bought a good mushrooming book at the weekend, it is called Mushrooming Without Fear. It is clear and concise and if you follow the advice it should not be possible to cock up. Which is good for me as I am a beginner.

There is a website:

www.mushrooming.co.uk

You can buy the book from a link on the site.

It seems that we are enjoying a bumper year so it makes sense to get in there now.

Stewey. :D

silvergirl

Nomad
Jan 25, 2006
Angus,Scotland
Sounds like a good book.

I've got around half a dozen Fungi books, but I still prefer going out with someone who knows what they are talking about. Once I've seen a mushroom in the flesh a couple of times I'm fairly confident I'll recognise it again.
But I can stare at books for hours and still not be sure.

Big Bad Stu

Nomad
Jul 18, 2006
Shropshire
The book concentrates on several characteristics of mushrooms, if you choose a mushroom which falls into the criteria it is edible.

You also get a field card to put in your pocket as a reference during a trip. You can then look things up when you get home to confirm that all is OK.

All good sense.

Klenchblaize

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Nov 25, 2005
Greensand Ridge
silvergirl said:
Sounds like a good book.

I've got around half a dozen Fungi books, but I still prefer going out with someone who knows what they are talking about. Once I've seen a mushroom in the flesh a couple of times I'm fairly confident I'll recognise it again.
But I can stare at books for hours and still not be sure.