Going out for the first time...

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

tyrcian

Feb 7, 2006
Guisborough, Cleveland
So, pretty soon my A levels will be over and I'll finally be able to get out and practice some of the things im aching to try and do, and I thought about hiking off somewhere in the nearby woodland alone for a weekend. I was just wondering if anybody else had done this and do they have any tips? I'd like to know any recommendations for equipment and food to take (I am hoping to find some food wherever I go though). Also what to do with two full days all to myself, I am a complete beginner to bushcraft so what skills should I work on, I dont have enough money or the necessary transport to go on a course at the moment so any thoughts would be nice. Thanks alot!

Tom :lmao:

I think I might set up camp the friday night, then go home and return in the morning. That will make taking essentials easier.

Any body got any ideas on equipment. Here's my list so far:
Knife
Fold out saw
Tent
Small blow up bed (this is not as big as you think it is, it's about the same size as the tent wrapped up)
Sleeping Bag
Food (might take a BBQ)
Water
Some cooking pots of some kind
First Aid Kit
Torch
Hygene Kit
Matches & Lighter & Birch Bark just incase there are no natural fuels nearby.
Batteries and Mobile Phone

I've decided to make two trips, the first trip I will take this with me:
Tent
Small blow up bed (this is not as big as you think it is, it's about the same size as the tent wrapped up)
Sleeping Bag

And on my second trip I will get settled in and be there with this:
Food (might take a BBQ)
Water
First Aid Kit
Torch
Hygene Kit
Matches & Lighter & Birch Bark just incase there are no natural fuels nearby.
Batteries and Mobile Phone
And anything else I will need.

tomtom

Dec 9, 2003
Sunny South Devon