getting started

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

waynerck

Mar 25, 2007
lisburn northern ireland
as you will prob see in the welcome page im new to this :) and i was wondering if any of you could give me an idea of the kit i need to buy first to get me started with bushcraft because i know i will prob buy lots of stuff only to realize a year later when im a bit smarter that i wasted my money on lots of thing i didnt really need im a bit of a magpie you see (oooo shiny things) . please :You_Rock_

leon-b

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
May 31, 2006
Who knows
well, you need a knife, something like a frosts mora is perfect and costs a tenner
leon

Matt Weir

Jun 22, 2006
Tyldesley, Lancashire.
Hi Wayne,

I'm not in a position to dish out advice as I'm pretty fresh into the world of bushcraft but I'm sure everyone will agree that the first thing to collect is a bit of knowledge.

Invest in some decent books and that will stand you in good stead for the future. Then you will be able to make better choices with regard to shiny things but I think it's fair to say that most people - me included - fall victim to rash decisions and impulse buys at some point, it's just a part of the learning process.

There is plenty of advice on the forum regarding which books to get hold of and there are also some good articles on the website under the articles tab at the top.

Good luck and welcome.

Geuf

Nomad
May 29, 2006
Eindhoven, the Netherlands
Welcome wayne! great to hear you're also interested in bushcrafty things.