Fishing Kayaks at North Shields!

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

rancid badger

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
I've been paddling open canoes for nearly five years now, something I should have started at least 30 years ago but never got the opportunity or simply couldn't afford.

Anyhow, I love my open canoe but I've been fancying doing some coastal paddling and fishing and while the Prospector is a really good all round boat, I don't think its the tool for what I have in mind.

So; I've been looking at fishing "sit on top" kayaks. These are the sort of thing you hire on the beach in Spain or wherever but with a bit more attention to detail and some extra fitting out, like rod holders or storage hatches etc.

I've settled on sot's, not because they are becoming more popular but because of my back problems. I can't easily get in or out of a "proper" kayak, so a sea or touring type kayak is not suitable for my needs.

As luck would have it, a pal of mine, who I met through canoeing has just started up his own paddle craft hire business in North Shields, about 20 miles down river from me. He's paddled kayaks for years but only more recently got into open boats.
Ian was made redundant at the turn of the year and after failing to find suitable employment, decided to give this a try.

So; myself and a few other paddling acquaintances, were invited down on Saturday, to test paddle a few of his brand new boats.

This is me checking out the seat on a Shakespeare 145 "angler", the biggest of the 4 boats we had out for the day at 14 feet 6 inches long.
sitontopsatnorthshields007copy.jpg

also in the photo; from left to right: a shakespeare 120 ( 12 feet long) "angler" in "sand" ? but I'd call it grey, sea grey at that! and when on the water, a bit too well camouflaged;)