Fishing for the complete newbie - tell me everything

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Folcwigga

Forager
Aug 11, 2009
London
Apart from holding a rod on a boat when i was a kid i've never fished. I've often thought about it, and for bushcraft it seems fundamental to have some skill in it, but it's something i've found hard to figure out where to begin. As someone who has never done it - and i'm not in the UK at the moment and won't be for a few more months at least - where should i begin? Can i teach myself or is it something i need to learn from someone more experienced?

Matt

mountainm

Bushcrafter through and through
Jan 12, 2011
Selby
www.mikemountain.co.uk
Its miles easier to learn by going with someone else but it certainly isn't rocket science.

Buy a good book on whatever your chosen version is. You have the following to choose from:

Course (rod or pole - Float fishing, leger or feeder fishing)
Fly
Spinning and lures
Sea

I'd opt for course to begin with as it gives you more options and is in my opinion easier to catch.

And don't forget most of the tackle and bits etc. out there are designed foremost to catch the angler!

Tight lines.

Mike

Fat Rog

Forager
Sep 30, 2012
Rotherham, S. Yorks