First Aid Kit?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

phaserrifle

Nomad
Jun 16, 2008
South of England
I have been looking at purchasing a new first aid kit.
The life systems kits look particuly good, as they appear to be quite well priced, while still being designed for the job I have in mind
But are they good quality, or do the contents not live up to expectations?
from previous experience with such a kit (someone elses) I will be replacing the adehisive tape, but past that I have no experience with these kits.

are they worth it?

Squidders

Aug 3, 2004
Harrow, Middlesex
I would make my own up including items I actually need when in the woods...

All the items I have I selected because they are good, the included "kit" items are usually low quality.

1 pair - tweezers for splinters and ticks and tricky bogeys
small roll - Gaffa tape for anything from a makshift sling to bandage to gag
1 - medium - military field dressing coz damn those things take a lot of blood, gaffa taped to the shoulder strap of your rucksack can give you the dressing and a shed load of tape.
2x - deep cut plasters because they clot well
2x - regular plasters
4x - headache tablets
6x - antiseptic wipes, good for a quick wash, cleaning a wound or making fires.

Tonedef

Tenderfoot
Dec 23, 2007
Stockport
First Aid wise, I have a generic kit I carry 99% of places.
The flowing is everything I have ever needed/ know how to use.
I'm sure there is other kit, but either I dont know how to use or can improvise.

1* 7.5cm x 4m conforming bandage.
1* 5cm x 4m crepe bandage.
2* 10x10cm wound dressing.(non-adherent)
1* 5x5cm wound dressing.
various small plasters(waterproof)
micro pore tape.
sticky fabric tape.
paracetamol
anti septic goo.
wipes.
disposable gloves.
couple pins.

In addition,
a space blanket and mil field dressing.

elevenses

Forager