Fire lighting with flint. AND Tinder.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Dave Barker

Nomad
Sep 15, 2003
Norway
www.brukskniver.net
As you can see from my incredible niavity ( and poor spelling) I have little knowledge about bushcraft.

I have watch ray Mears on occasion and have some comments about the programs but that does not belong to this forum....

I have seen him light fires by using flint, and want to know where I can get it and how to do it.

I know the best thing is to use matches or the like but sometimes even the best laid plans fail, we were out on a sunday trip at the weekend and wantedto light a fire, we had matches, but although theses were in a waterproof container, they wouldn't light due to the wind, Flint would probably have been better right??

So, where do I find usable flint, what is the best thing to strike it with, and what tinder or kindling gives the most " definate " result.

For the comments on Rays programs, then send me a pm or mail.

Thanks for the help. One day I might learn something!!!

C_Claycomb

Moderator staff
Mod
Oct 6, 2003
Bedfordshire
A Swedish Fire Steel, or Fire Flash ferocerium rod will give you more and hotter sparks than genuine flint and steel. These can be used to light a wide range of both natural and prepared tinder. Birch bark shavings, resin soaked pine shavings, plant downs and so on. The modern ferocerium rods make sparks hot enough to get flame straight off using the right tinder.