FAK - What do you carry, what do you base camp with and what's your EDC.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

tim_n

Feb 8, 2010
Essex
What do you keep in your FAK?

I have an old mountain rescue hip kit I carry, which has the usual assortment of bandages, plasters, burn gel etc from a standard eBay FAK refill.

In addition for carry I add
Tick Tools
dispersable paracetamol
calpol sachet
tweezers
steristrips
couple of blister patches
glucose sachet.

In addition to this, for my "basecamp" kit

a couple of paracetamol
a couple of asprin
a couple of Loperamide/Imodium
a length of Buscopan
blood sugar tester
blood pressure monitor
Mini ECG
Defib with paedatric pads
oralphlangerial airways
bag & mask
Israeli bandage

This all pretty much stays in the car unless there's someone suitably trained with me (I used to be an ambulance tech)

When I travel to work I have a much smaller kit, more of an EDC
Plasters, trianglar bandage, crepe bandage & medium ambulance dressing
Multitool & some sprung steel. Ed will know what I'm on about.
ECG
blood sugar tester & glucose tablet.
Israeli bandage.

I'm fortunate the wife is diabetic, so I can keep a small supply of sterile needles & test strips for the tester in rotation so they're not wasted.

I should point out the basecamp stuff is mostly because I do scouting and I do like to be prepared...

TeeDee

Nov 6, 2008
Exeter
What do you keep in your FAK?

I have an old mountain rescue hip kit I carry, which has the usual assortment of bandages, plasters, burn gel etc from a standard eBay FAK refill.

In addition for carry I add
Tick Tools
dispersable paracetamol
calpol sachet
tweezers
steristrips
couple of blister patches
glucose sachet.

In addition to this, for my "basecamp" kit

a couple of paracetamol
a couple of asprin
a couple of Loperamide/Imodium
a length of Buscopan