Easy to make bushcraft equipment.

Home Guard

Forager
Dec 13, 2010
North Walsham, Nelson's County.
Hi,
I've been wanting to have a go at crafting for a while and would like to make something usuful that I could use whilst out bushcrafting. Im new to this but im not to bad working with my hands either, I would like to make something with the minimal basic tools posible.

I've always wanted to make a spoon, but can this be achieved without the appropriate spoon knife?

Any suggestions or advice on what or how to make something would be greately appreciated, thankyou.

Feel free to show off your works. :)

of course the spoon can be achieved without a spoon knife.
just place an ember from your fire onto the area you want to hollow out in the spoon shape then chip out the charred wood with a normal knife.
please note i have only read of this technique but in principle it should work
(i'm not big on spoon carving but getting into it)

shaggystu

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Nov 10, 2003
Derbyshire
you don't need a spoon knife to carve the bowl of a spoon, you can use the tip of your knife to roughly carve out the inside of the bowl and then just finish with sandpaper. you can also use a gouge. i'd carved a few spoons before i ever got a spoon knife and it's not always my first choice now

good luck with the spoon carving, it's pretty addictive.

cheers

stuart

Ogri the trog

Mod
Mod
Apr 29, 2005
Mid Wales UK
Don't get precious about picking up a needle & thread,
you can make, modify or repair all sorts of clothing, create stuff sacks from old trousers and add tie-out loops to tarps for instance.

Practice your knife skills so that feather-sticks and trap triggers become second nature.

Lastly, practise a few knots so that they get ingrained into your mind - and from someone elses point of view, look effortless.

ATB

Ogri the trog

MSkiba

Settler
Aug 11, 2010
North West
of course the spoon can be achieved without a spoon knife.