Duke of Edinburghs Bushcraft for Girls - Sanity check please!

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Zodiak

Settler
Mar 6, 2006
Kent UK
I am a teacher and have offerred to run an after school Bushcraft Duke of Edinburgh's Bronze Award course for 16 14/15year old girls. Its a long story :)

I would welcome sombody to sanity check my ideas.

It will be 6 one hour sessions after school and an overnight stay on a local farm, so I was thinking

Session 1 Using kinves - they can make the emergy board sharpening kits mentioned elsewhere on this forum. I can probably get the bits for that from teh tech block.;) The school are very twitchy about knives and they are not allowed to bring them to school, so I was going to buy 8 Frosts Maras, they can share one between two, and I will keep locked up.

Session 2 Firelighting - Lets get them onto the good stuff early, so that was just going to be a small pile of wood round the back of the sports hall just get used to setting fire to things, and probably toast some marshmallows.

Session 3 Make billies out of stainless steel sugar containers (£1 each from Wilkinsons) and wire coat hangers and learn how to cut wood with a folding saw.

Session 4 Food - This is going to be good as I am bound by all kinds of restrictions here and I have already been told that preparing chickens or rabbits on school property is out, I am probably going to start a BBQ using lighter fluid and they can make damper and bannock for that.

Session 5 Shelter Building - Its going to have to be tarps, and as money is tight probably blue pastic ones from B&Q or their DPM equivalent from the camping shop.

Session 6 - First Aid - The school insist on that one!

The Overnight stay will be 24 hours when they get to

- Put their shelters up