Drying goretex lined boots

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Trig

Nomad
Jun 1, 2013
Scotland
Long story short, its been a bit wet here, and certain puddle looked alot shallower than it actually was.

Now, i can dry my boxers, tshirt and hat no bother :lmao:

But what about goretex lined boots? Its the first time ive gotten them wet inside, and im unsure whether drying them near a fire will damage the lining in someway?
Or is it best to just stuff them with newspaper and let them air dry

bowji john

Silver Trader
I had to jump into the river after my dog yesterday - as I'm a swift water rescue instructor, I know it to be a no no - but I defy anyone not to do the same for yer mate

Boots - also lined with goretex - ended up as buckets of water

dried by using newspaper and placing them next to fire

Once dried will be liberally treated with dubbin

Macaroon

A bemused & bewildered
Jan 5, 2013
SE Wales
Don't dry leather near any heat source if you want it to last and perform; 20 degrees and lots of moving air is the way to go. Stuff them with newspaper or any other absorbent material like old cut up cotton, but only leave it in there 'till it gets wet then change it for dry stuff. Moving air is the main thing.

kard133

Mar 20, 2010
Bath
Remove the insoles if possible, as above stuff with news papers, or place a doubled plastic bag inside the boot, and fill with warm water, or a chemical hand warmer, and place in a warm room, make the membrane work as it was designed to.

Robson Valley

Nov 24, 2014
McBride, BC
My SIL is a project supervisor with a top-end landscaping company in Vancouver BC.
Hard, cold, heavy rain through most of his winters and he'd come home soaked.

So, I built him a boot dryer: Wooden box with an older 8" computer fan in one side.