Dilicious food / no supplies. Is it possible?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Demonwolf444

Tenderfoot
May 18, 2013
Ripon, North Yorkshire
Okay so hypothetical situation.

Me and a friend or a couple of friends might bush out for a day or two on some permission of ours, and this got me to thinking. I am a good cook, and from the most uninspiring ingredients can generally come up with things that are pretty good eats! While this is well and good when in the comfort of a well equipped kitchen where i can easily just grab some salt and pepper and anything else from an endless list of cupboard lurking condiments i think i would be hard pressed to create a bushcraft meal that was genuinely tasty without packing in ingredients.

Time frame would be this time of year, and we have permission to shoot and forage to our hearts extent on the land.
Things i would be packing anyway would be, flour, baking soda, dried fruits, nuts, oatmeal, salt, sugar,bacon. This is mainly to practice making jonnycakes and bannocks and such like, just for fun. But my question is does the forest provide enough to not only for food, but for delicious food.

My thought is the best chance of getting decent flavor in the woods is going to be a slow cooked stew of rabbit or pigeon or both. I trust my identification skills and pocket books enough to collect some wild mushrooms and some wild garlic, but aside from filling the pot with mushrooms and meat, what else could be added for flavour. In a kitchen i would be throwing in every vegetable in sight, carrots, potato, tomato, onion, garlic, left over stock, beer, into the pot. But i would be interested to know from those more experienced woodsmen if they think they could source alternatives from the land.