Dawn redwood (Metasequoia)

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

TLM

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Nov 16, 2019
Vantaa, Finland
Has anyone experience trying to grow this fossil? Got some seeds and very simple instructions and now looking for a bit more info.

Pattree

Jul 19, 2023
UK
While I have no personal experience, Pershore, the horticultural college that I went to had little trouble growing them. You probably already know that they are under threat on their home turf in China but they are grown everywhere across the world where they won’t suffer drought, sun burn or long winters. Just follow those simple instructions, get a good root ball established before planting in its final site. It enjoys the wet and can live in water but that is only after it is established.

Wish I could help more. It probably is as simple as your instructions.
Good luck.

Wander

Native
Jan 6, 2017
Here There & Everywhere
Sorry to be the buzzkill, but if I may be allowed to take the role of the other side of your conscience, may I suggest that you avoid growing non-native species?
It is better for the bio-habitat and the support of wildlife to grow native species (wherever you may be) because that is the environment the biosphere has evolved to thrive in.
Sorry, but just a thought, and one worth voicing.
As you were...

Pattree

Jul 19, 2023
UK
Metasequoia is found in parks, gardens and arboretums all over the UK.

I would agree with @Wander if you intend to grow a plantation but there is nothing wrong with a couple of specimens down by your spring.

If it were an invasive, or even a vigorous species I think there would be more of them about. Indeed I can’t recall seeing natural regen in this species.

Wander

Native
Jan 6, 2017
Here There & Everywhere