• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Paul_B

Bushcrafter through and through
Jul 14, 2008
Cumbria
Has anyone made their own canoe, kayak, boat or SUP? Did you use a kit or make it from scratch perhaps with only plans to guide you? I've been looking at Fine Boat Kits and they do look nice and not that hard, but I've no experience or tools.

Has anyone experience of this? Do you have any photographs of what you made and work in progress?

alphaburner

Jan 17, 2014
Cork, Ireland
No experience but I did read a few books on making strip built canoes and kayaks. Looked like an interesting method but whatever way you do it, you’ll need some space.

Paul_B

Jul 14, 2008
Cumbria
I've got a 19 foot plus garage. A little tidy up and there's probably enough space there.

Broch

Life Member
Jan 18, 2009
Mid Wales
www.mont-hmg.co.uk
I built my first 'boat' when I was sixteen - an Ottersports touring double kayak - stitch and tape - and I still have xxx years later :) - there is nothing more satisfying than pushing out onto some nice peace of water in a boat you've built yourself :)

I have a number of books on building canoes - cedar strip and wood & canvas - both of which I really want to do, and will do sometime soon (in my case it will have to be very soon!).

Reactions: Paul_B

Stew

Nov 29, 2003
Aylesbury
stewartjlight-knives.com
I’ve made my own SUP - hollow wood strip wood.

I then repeated the process to improve it but built a surfboard. I filmed that one more thoroughly than the SUP. I’ll find the footage.

I’ve always fancied making a strip wood Canadian canoe but am realistic that I wouldn’t use it or have the space to store it.

Reactions: Paul_B

nigelp

Native
Jul 4, 2006
New Forest
newforestnavigation.co.uk