Cooking over an open fire.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Nov 18, 2005
England
Hey guys. The following question might seem a bit stupid.. but I'm very new at this whole thing (and have barely cooked even with modern appliances in my life - I be lazy) so please bare with me.

Is it possible to cook mushrooms and meat over an open fire by just impaling them with a stick and hovering them on the edge of the flame? Is this safe? I've visited quite a few sites.. and I just see alot of pan malarky and I'm wondering if it's neccessary i like to keep this basic :p. Will simply cooking the food properly get rid of any nasties that I shouldn't eat?

I apologise if anything of this nature has been posted previously, but I haven't noticed anything in previous pages and a recap for utter begginners like myself couldn't hurt.

Thanks very much in advance,
Jack.

cronos

Tenderfoot
Nov 6, 2005
Norfolk
I am no Keith Floyd, but I have cooked over open fires. I think it not only comes down to what you are cooking, but also what you are burning on the fire. I have never had any problems and nor has my cooking killed anyone, well not that I am aware of.

Cronos

stovie

Need to contact Admin...
Oct 12, 2005
Balcombes Copse
Me and the boys love cooking over the fire. And skewering meat and veg on wittled sticks is great fun and perfectly safe (no different to kebabs on a BBQ). I find the secret is to have a good bed of coals to cook over and not roaring flames :eek: That way you have control over what you are cooking, and don't end up with charcoal on the outside and raw in the middle....

Half the fun is experimenting :)

Nov 18, 2005
England
Many thanks guys!

I guess time depends on the size of what meat you are cooking, but are there any estimates on how long you should cook 'em for? Or is it best to go by how they look?