Cold winter has destroyed midge population

Melonfish

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jan 8, 2009
Warrington, UK
what we need is pitcher plants that are Genetically modified to survive in scotland. and instead of nectar give off C02 as an incentive. if only i was a mad scientist...

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
The sundew used to be so common it was used as a herbal remedy. Nowadays it inhabits SSSI's :sigh:
It's very fond of midgies :D

Be absolutely brilliant if the weather has had an impact on the blighters :) even better if it's done in the mozzies and especially the clegs.:cool:

cheers,
Toddy

gregorach

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Sep 15, 2005
Edinburgh
The sundew used to be so common it was used as a herbal remedy. Nowadays it inhabits SSSI's :sigh:

Really? I had no idea that it wasn't common any more. You'd need a heck of a lot of them to make a decent hole in the midgie population though...

Gailainne

Life Member
Andy

I was talking to some of the guys on the hammock forums in the US and they swear by Permathrin, especially on their trousers for ticks, it kills them before they have a chance to settle. You can get it here for re-treating midge nets, and it will still work even after a few washes, I'm definitely going to try it, I seem to always pick up the little blighters.

andybysea

Oct 15, 2008
South east Scotland.
Gailainne, ive used permethrin,id heard it was very good kills on contact,the down side is it seems to be very flammable,just ask my coveralls i had drying infront of the fire after a soaking through walking in waist deep wet bracken,the pemethrin coats the fabric and last about 2 weeks and dosent wash off easily which is good,but in the morning all's that was left of them was a button(they were about 5ft from fire so i assume a spark or ember landed on them and up they went)

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire