Cocker Spaniel help please?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

rancid badger

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
As some of you might know, I 'adopted' a six year old cocker spaniel bitch, about 5 months ago.
This is Molly:
IMGP0046copy6mollycopyresized.jpg

Her original owners had been expecting her to come into season fairly soon but she's only just started.

I've had no experience of this in the past and am just wondering, if anyone can tell me how long it lasts and whether she needs any special care/feed/attention etc.:confused:

any advice appreciated:eek:

cheers

R.B.

Eric_Methven

Apr 20, 2005
Durham City, County Durham
Hi Steve,
Here's some info I found.

"Season" is one of the many terms used for the time when a bitch is fertile and can become pregnant if she is mated by a male dog. Others are coming "in heat", "in use" or "oestrus".

Most bitches have their first season at around 6 or 8 months old.

The first sign is likely to be a slight discharge of white or pale yellow mucus from the vulva which may also swell slightly. The vulva is the opening to her womb, through which puppies would be born, not where she wees. After a day or so, the discharge becomes blood-stained and the vulva swells much more. The main discharge continues for the first 5 to 10 days of the season, which is technically called "pro-oestrus". After this it will gradually reduce until it dries up altogether - this part of the cycle is officially called "oestrus".

Sometimes it can be difficult to recongsise a first season, especially if the discharge is slight and you haven't owned a bitch before. If you're not sure if your bitch is in season, keep her away from male dogs just in case, and ask your vet.