charcoal question

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

mr dazzler

Native
Aug 28, 2004
uk
I burned a load of waste wood (some offcuts from my work shop, some old fencing, some prunings from the garden) in a steel oil drum incinerator, basically just to get rid. Being an artist, I noticed some usuable chunks of charcoal in the ashes left behind. Some of it was like the regular windsor and newton or rowney type stuff, smooth and velvetty which was predictably "ok". But what I really liked was that some of the charcoal seemed to be only partly "done" and instead of that soft wispy mark that so easily is lost, I was getting a gritty scratchy quality that scored into the paper, almost like an etching, leaving charcoal dust in the scratched lines. The problem is, I dont know how I got that particular gritty sort. I dont know what sort of wood. It could have been ash/oak/birch/beech/alder/larch/pine or whatever shrubs live in the garden(no idea what they are) And the wood just burned until it was gone, I didnt cover it or seal the oil drum. Has any experienced charcoal maker any tips to try and reproduce an "under-done" batch?

mr dazzler

Native
Aug 28, 2004
uk
plenty of willer around here.....!
When you produce charcoal does it come out soft or hard? And do you cook the wood green or seasoned?
Since I posted the original question, I had an idea. I got a quantity of the charcoal, pesteled and mortared it, then mixed it with cellulose paste (which I've successfully used to make colored pastells using dry pigments) to make a charcoal crayon. I deliberately put extra paste to make the mix harder when it dries out. It just might acheive the same effect of scratching and etching itself into the paper

Kadushu

If Carlsberg made grumpy people...
Jul 29, 2014
Kent