Bushcraft courses or not?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

stuart f

Jan 19, 2004
Hawick, Scottish Borders
Hi all,I,ve been mulling this over for a while now and i was interested what your opinions are on the subject.

So my question is do you think its essential to go on a bushcraft course,so as to say i,m qualified now i,ve done a course?.

I think what i,m trying to get at is this,is somebody who,s been on a course better qualified than somebody who has self taught themselves i,e read books,watched tv, asked questions on a website such as here.

I have never been on a course and have self taught myself through the medium above mentioned,i,e i can light fire by friction,build debris shelters and can even carve a spoon :wink: etc. Ok i suppose i would have learned quicker if i had done a course but,i enjoyed the challenge on myself.

Now i,m not decrying courses its just that it never entered my head to go on one,but i,ve noticed that on some schools they say that you can,t attend advanced classes unless you,ve done a basic one with them first,i know this is probably more to do with insurance than qualifications. I would like to go more advanced but to do that i,d probably have to go on a basic one first.

So have i gone about it the wrong way by teaching myself,your thoughts please.

Adi007

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Sep 3, 2003
stuart f said:
So have i gone about it the wrong way by teaching myself,your thoughts please.
It worked for the human race up until now :wink:

As someone not really pro-courses, here'smy take on things ...