bushcraft and disabilities.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

rivermom

Tenderfoot
Jan 19, 2008
Sligo, Ireland
hello, out there,
this is my first time ever using a forum, as i am new to the world of computers.
I have always been an outdoor person, and interested in bushcraft. but access to the bush is rather difficult, since i am disabled and live in an isolated village with no public transport.
recently i started looking for some alternative mode of transport by means of which i could get out and about.
does anyone have any suggestions. the parameters are as follows.

it can not be a car, because i cannot get a license.
it can not be a bicycle, because i have poor sense of balance.
it can not be a horse, because i have no land or stable.
it has to be able to negotiate hilly terrain.

i would appreciate any suggestions you folks can come up with.
Rivermom.

Wayne

Mod
Mod
Dec 7, 2003
West Sussex
www.forestknights.co.uk
Does no car mean no motorised transport?

My first suggestion would have been a road legal quad bike but i expect thats out. Our local RSPB reserve have a tramper for people with impaired mobility. Basically an off road disabled buggy reasonable turn of speed and range too.

Balance would not be an issue for an off road tricycle.

Welcome to the forum.

rivermom

Tenderfoot
Jan 19, 2008
Sligo, Ireland
thanks for the replies, guys. it seems that i may have been unclear in my original post as to what i am looking for.
i am not wheelchair dependant. i just can't walk very far. i actually do climb small mountains, just very slowly. and i can get around in the woods and such. but all that there is around me here is farmland full of cows.
but six miles away there is a lake, with islands. i just have no way to travel the six miles. and the terrain here is hilly; drumlin country.