Bush craft newbie

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Johnboy06

Tenderfoot
Aug 18, 2006
Ellesmere Port
Hi all,
Iv not been on in a while and last time i asked whats the best way to get into bushcraft and i got some great ideas. Unfortunatly one thing after another means iv had no chance really to get on with it and start learning so im still a newbie just read the books over again lol. Anyway just couple of questions. Firstly i was wondering what careers there are in bushcraft if there are any. Im 19 and its something that would definetly appeal to me to learn as a living. And secondly im going to australia in about a month and wondering if anyone knew of courses and that sort of thing. Im an ozzie citizen so i know the dangers and im not about to run off into the outback lol but wouldnt mind havin a pop at some courses over there (south australia). Went on a fantastic camping and canoeing trip in algonquin national park in canada so iv really got the bug lol. Any info is great its not really a specific thread just wondering these things is all lol.

Cheers

Brocktor

Banned
Jul 25, 2006
uk
one of the only ways to get a job in bushcraft is to constantly ask and get friends with course buisnesses, this could take years

Eric_Methven

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Apr 20, 2005
Durham City, County Durham
I don't know about specific careers in bushcraft apart from teaching it - and you really need years of experience behind you before you should even consider going down that route. However, there are plenty of careers where you would be able to learn bushcrafty skills and develop experience to enable you to build a sound knowledge base.