blacksmithing courses for bushcraft enthusiasts

Hi There,
just came across your fantastic forum this morning and joined up.
I am a professional blacksmith of almost 12 years and have been running courses generally aimed at the decorative side of the craft. however i really want to run some courses aimed at the bushcraft enthusiast and would appreciate your feedback as to what sort of things you would like to do and taylor it to suit your needs. I am in the process of getting a course website finished and would like to include this specific course in the opening of the site. All your feedback will be greatfully received and i look forward to hearing from some of you very soon.:D

Everything Mac

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Nov 30, 2009
Scotland
Hi Fireboy - I'm an amateur smith myself. I think stuff like fire-steels would be good, basic knifes of course, perhaps stuff like fire-side tools?

atb
Andy

durulz

Need to contact Admin...
Jun 9, 2008
Elsewhere
What about how to make a flint striker?
I'm sure it's dead simple, but as bushcrafters it's something we all use and it's better to use one you've made yourself.
If I went on a (beginners) smithing course and came away with that (plus all the knowledge!) I'd be dead chuffed.

Thanks andy appreciate that. So items such as meat hooks, toasting forks. excellent, thanks alot. Would you be interested in a course? :D
My prices are very reasonable and i could offer discounts to all those who mention they have come through this forum!
Again many thanks

What about how to make a flint striker?
I'm sure it's dead simple, but as bushcrafters it's something we all use and it's better to use one you've made yourself.
If I went on a (beginners) smithing course and came away with that (plus all the knowledge!) I'd be dead chuffed.

Would you be able to tell me what sort of steel is used for the flint striker? this sounds like a nice project with lots of scope for individualism.
Thanks alot

durulz