BCBIN ultimate survival kit

Oct 24, 2011
Glasgow
Hi im richard and i just bought the BCBIN ultimate survival kit. It consists of a water bag, nylon cord, wiresaw, ziplock bag, waterproof immediate survival instructions, sewing kit, safety pins, fishing kit, flint and steel striker, emergency whistle, book matches, signalling mirror, button compass, single edge blade, multi purpose mini tool, x2 salt sachets, candle, pencil, x20 water purification tablets, brass snare wire. I used all the book matches so replaced them with water and windproof storm matches. sorry for the long post, but is their anything else absolutely essential i should add to this kit? I'm new to this kind of this thats why i'm asking, thanks :D

spandit

Bushcrafter through and through
Jul 6, 2011
East Sussex, UK
Welcome, Richard. I'm hoping you're not a spambot but I'll give you the benefit of the doubt.

I'd add some antiseptic wipes, plasters, surgical tape & cotton wool - the latter will make great tinder too

ateallthepies

Native
Aug 11, 2011
hertfordshire
It depends on what you want the kit for, for me personally I feel I'm unlikely to need anything to actually survive 99% of the time, so I have filled my tin with stuff I use on a daily basis. About half my tin is medical stuff, I do have a proper first aid kit but it is just that bit too large to cart around everywhere. One item I'm always using is the cash I have in it usually a twenty pound note and a few pound coins. It's a great feeling if I'm skint somewhere and then remember I have some cash in my tin!

Here is my thread on my tin for some ideas... http://www.bushcraftuk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=79135&highlight=

Steve.

AussieVic

Forager
Jan 24, 2011
Victoria, Australia
You might consider some emergency tinder.
If you don't mind "growing" the kit a bit then you could consider adding a large garbage bag as a multi purpose rain cover, shelter, seat, jacket, or justas a big bag.
Some people like to carry a Space Blanket or bag too.