Bad Kit/Ideas

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

StormWalker

Need to contact Admin...
Jul 4, 2005
Mid-Wales
Evening all,

Over the past few weeks I have watched with great interest all the differing reveiws about great peices of kit which people have bought, but as I am new to bushcrafting I am also wondering what products are out there which are not as great as the manufacturers would have us believe.

I know nobody likes to admit they spent their hard earned cash on a peice of junk, but please help a new starter. :eek:

Cheers

SW :D

khimbar

Nomad
Jan 5, 2005
birmingham uk
That Maya fire starting wood stuff in the little tins from Light My Fire. Cotton wool is lighter, cheaper, packs down denser and takes a spark first time, every time.

marshall4771

Forager
Jan 5, 2004
Bingley,West Yorkshire
I spent my cash on " light my fire" - what a waste. I ended up trying to light the whole tin with a fire steel. no chance, I wont buy this rubbish again (serves me right really - short cuts dont work )

Shaun

Ogri the trog

Mod
Mod
Apr 29, 2005
Mid Wales UK
Yup, me too,
Got hooked by the hype of Maya dust - the only thing of any real use is the tin.
Stick with birch bark or cotton wool - much cheaper to get hold of and whats more, they work!
Also, I regularly get tempted to buy a really expensive knife, but at the last moment, a wave of sanity kicks in. Will it really cut any better than a cheaper knife? Maybe it will and maybe it wont, either way I keep on saving the big bucks that I haven't spent on it! And I'm really getting to like the kit made knife from Brisa that I made.

ATB

Ogri the trog

TwoFourAlpha

Tenderfoot
Dec 18, 2004
Manchester