Are these bees mating?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

xavierdoc

Apr 5, 2006
SW Wales
My daughter spotted these bees in Devon last month.

I assume it's a queen mating with a drone.

P1040599beesmating.jpg

P1040607beesmating.jpg

Any apiarists care to comment?

Ta

mrcairney

Settler
Jun 4, 2011
West Pennine Moors
Not sure, but did you know that technically drones are all female? I always thought they where male. There's an apiary on the small holding where my plot is. I should be going up today so I'll ask for you.

robin wood

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Oct 29, 2007
derbyshire
www.robin-wood.co.uk
I am no expert though used to keep bees and have always had a bit of an interest in wild bees. This page is good for IDs and learning all about bumbles http://www.bumblebeeconservation.org/bumblebees_id.htm and these look to me like mating carder bees.
Carder bee Bombus pascuorum apparently is the most common all brown bee. Males have longer more gently curved antennae females have a notable kink in theirs, this ties nicely with your pics.
A google image search for mating Bombus pascuorum showed this one which looks a good match.
PascuorumMating.jpg

Kepis

Bushcrafter through and through
Jul 17, 2005
Sussex
the one on top has sore feet, so tuther one is giving it a lift home;)

Chrisj

Nomad
Oct 14, 2009
Gwynedd
Not sure, but did you know that technically drones are all female? I always thought they where male. There's an apiary on the small holding where my plot is. I should be going up today so I'll ask for you.