apache canoes very pic heavy

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

firebreather

Settler
Jan 26, 2007
Manchester
Hello all this is my first attempt at a write up so please go easy on me.

I have been looking at getting into open canoeing for a while and was initially looking at the Costco special- the pelican explorer dlx. Then after chatting with Singeblister and Andywinkk I was directed over to apache canoes ( http://www.apachecanoes.co.uk/ ) to have a look at theirs.
Now they look great on the website but being honest they looked a lot better than I needed or could manage, but they was very pretty and I had to have a closer look. So I rang Stu at apache for a chat and some advice as all the piccys on his website looked like the guys knew what they was doing. After a long phone call where I probably asked a load of silly questions we had arranged to meet up and have a paddle.
This was more than I had ever expected as I was just enquiring about the boats and how they would be for beginners. As neither Lin or myself have done any paddling really. My last go in a canoe was in my teens on an adventure weekend and that was eons ago.
So it was with a certain amount of trepidation that we set off on a wet cold Sunday morning to meet up at the lock side. I had visions of falling straight in and sinking the canoe just trying to get in. Arriving at the waterside and meeting Stu and Helen we was immediately put at ease and Stu was sharing his knowledge before we even got into the water.
This was the moment of truth…into the water
P2150030.jpg