alpkit gear?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Mike8472

Jul 28, 2009
west yorkshire
I have a little money to treat myself to an early xmas present and was looking at the alpkit website.
i have no experience with their gear but the prices looked very reasonable.

I was thinking about getting the mytimug 650 and koro stove.

Has anyone here used any of these items? Are they worth a punt?

How durable are titanium cups in comparison to stainless steel equivalents.

ateallthepies

Native
Aug 11, 2011
hertfordshire
I can't really comment on SS cups as all my stuff is Titanium. I don't have the Alpkit stuff but do have the MSR Titan kettle and cup and also Snowpeak 600 cup. I'm quite rough with my stuff but have never had any problems. Saying that I did have one small issue, I was making a Aluminium lid for the Titan cup and whacking the rim of the circle of Ali' while on the cup to round it over and found after I had flattened the base of the cup by a few mm where it was kind of stepped before!

SCOMAN

Life Member
Dec 31, 2005
Perthshire
I have one of their Titanium cups from way back, great pieces of kit wouldn't be without it. Their head torches are pretty good too.

Angry Pirate

Forager
Jul 24, 2014
Peak District
I've had an Alpkit titanium mug for some years now and use it as my primary cooking kit. I have abused the hell out of it and it's still in really good nick bar one small dint in the base. I'm tempted to buy another just so I can use it for brews at home - my other half keeps breaking the ceramic mugs (I'd like to see her try with a titanium one :) )

sunndog

May 23, 2014
derbyshire
Alpkit stuff is pretty good. Titanium is not quite as strong as a SS equivalent on the whole i'd say. but the TI will be plenty strong enough

Pete11

Nomad
Jul 12, 2013
Scotland