A jacket for bushcraft

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

susi

Nomad
Jul 23, 2008
Finland
Hej!

SASS Kit smock here. Fades a bit over time, but as a breathable and relatively wind/shower proof layer, I haven't found anything to match it.

Well speaking smocks I've turned to the UK for a model in Ventille (unavailable here). Several years ago the car was broken into at a trailhead and a favorite Marmot anorak in Goretex was stolen. I have a synthetic anorak (I think we call smocks anoraks here in the US) but wanted one that is more geared to bushcrafting and the requisite use and proximity to fire-lots of fire.
I studied all the manufacturers in the UK (that I could find) and decided to order the Hilltrek Braemar with mods based on a pic I found on this site=enlarged hood, wired brim, poppers versus velcro, two compass pockets and double ventille....I even ordered the same color scheme-olive outer and antique bronz inner (my salute to that poster's good taste!)
All anoraks I've had were a tussle to don and off....but that same synthetic model mentioned above has a side zipper which makes all the difference in the world. I asked Hillcraft to add one of these as well.
The Braemar will be used primarily over the Empire Canvas Works Boreal Shirt..if you don't know this shirt here is a link, just scroll down:
http://www.empirecanvasworks.com/woolblanketshirt.htm
As an ultralightweight backpacker synthetics do have their place but for stumbling through the bush and crawling under the thickets, and kneeling down to bellow the fire up, well I can see ventille in my life.

Rabbitsmacker

Settler
Nov 23, 2008
Kings Lynn
sas smock, just the best design, i have the over the head ones as well as newer ones, including a private purchase sass og garbadine( not the ventile type). am working on a modded swedish snow smock.