Recommend me a bow.

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

BigMonster

Sep 6, 2011
Manchester
Hi guys.
I'm after a bow so I can have some fun during the moot. Heres what I'm after:
-standard straight type, no block type. Simpler the better.
-preferably sintetic over wood so I don't have to worry about storing it.
-I have some experience in archery from when I was young so I'm after something more than entry level. Actually I dont mind a steeper learning curve so recommend me something that will last me a bit longer.
-I'm 6'5" 17 stone bloke with some power in my back so 40-60 pounds is not a problem for me. I'm more after fun and sending some power than pin point accuracy.
-simpler and more elegant and maintenance free the better, I'm not planning on plastering it with gadgets and sights, I really like shooting by feel/naked eye.
-I'm left eyed and left handed.
-I am ready to pay 100 pounds for something decent.

I will be gratefull for any advice, tips and help.

dwardo

Bushcrafter through and through
Aug 30, 2006
Nr Chester
You will need to figure out your draw length before buying. At 6ft5 your likely to have the draw of an orang-utan ;) Most of your standard cheaper glass bows only draw out to 28 and being 6n alf foot tall you may be out to as much as 30, drawing a 27-28 bow out to 30 will likely cause it to start failing.