winter sleeping

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

mal

Forager
Sep 20, 2004
Blackpool
Hi everyone need lots of opinions on some kit, i am new to the craft so please excuse any ignorants. my question is what to get to sleep in and or on see i really liked the look of rays Eco system but after talking to staff there they would not recommend it for winter very onist i thought so as its coming up for winter i would get that at a latter date so my options are tents so any advise on any of the above gratefully received i do like the look of the tee pee tents and are woodloar sleeping bags any good would i get away with the Aussie hooche and a good winter bag any thing i use i would like to be lite also if I'm on the floor do i need a mate of some sort HHHHeeeeellllllpppp :yikes:

bigjackbrass

Nomad
Sep 1, 2003
Leeds
I slept outside in a Woodlore sleeping bag last winter and was pretty cosy. Given that I was in Lapland at the time you can take it that they are quite warm.

A bivvy bag is an essential, and you need plenty of insulation under you as well, probably far more than you would think. Spruce boughs were the order of the day in Lapland, topped with my battered old Ridge Rest mat, but for more general use I'd recommend a couple of foam sleeping mats, or a Therm-a-Rest with a foam mat on top. Fill any spaces in the bag with spare clothes.