Wild Winter Foods

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Ash Blue

Tenderfoot
Jan 19, 2007
Manchester
Foraging is my main passion at the moment, but I'm quite new to it (as in trying to become an expert). I'm wondering if anyone could link me or list all of the growing plants in winter that can be eaten? Summer is a feast of wild food, but winter plants is something I'd like more expertise on if possible.

kennyboy

Jul 15, 2009
N.Ireland
Winter is a dormant time, meaning plant growth ceases.
After flowering and seed production plants will spend the autumnal months building up their energy stores, in the form of starch, for the following spring.
This energy is stored underground in roots and tubers, think potatoes. Therefore during Winter you will not be foraging for the plant but for its root/tuber.
You need to study the plants in all aspects of their growth. From the fresh spring growth to the autumn die-back to know where to dig up the starch store.
Collins Gems books have some excellent guides to edibles and the books fit in your pocket.
If your serious about learning how to gather Wild Winter Foods it's gonna take awhile but this IS the best time to start.

Ash Blue

Tenderfoot
Jan 19, 2007
Manchester
Thank you kennyboy. I have Food For Free and Mushrooms from Collins Gem. And It shows 3 edible plants for January. 1 is found in the sea, 1 is a mushroom, and the other is chickweed. But I'll have to find some other information somewhere on roots in winter.

Is it even possible to have a good diet of wild plants in winter, or would hunting have the be the main focus?

andyn

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Aug 15, 2005
Hampshire
www.naturescraft.co.uk
A good diet on just winter plant growth?... I would personally say no.