What makes a good bushcraft knife?blade shape/size ect

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

CLEM

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jul 10, 2004
Stourbridge
Now i freely admit i am no bushcraft expert or expert on knives ect,more like a broke the surface and right keen to learn semi novice :) so iam interested to know/learn what makes a good/ideal bushcraft knife as regards to blade size and blade shape?

Neil1

Oct 4, 2003
Sittingbourne, Kent
Everyone has their own opinion on this one!
It is very much a personal issue, what I call the perfect bushcraft knife will be very different to someone elses view.
A good way to go is to get a long to a meet-up, everyone brings different pointy things along and they are a good chance to try out some of the designs available.
A good choice until you have found the perfect blade, is one that I use most often and recommend to anyone new to the craft - an Opinel No7 (attached with cord to your belt loops and kept in your pocket along with a firesteel, a keyring light and a whistle) and in my daysack a traditional scandi (a Mora, or Issakia, or my Lauri PT).
The Opinel takes care of about 80% of my cutting needs (food prep, cutting cordage, harvesting plants, etc), the scandi get used for carving, splitting and making feather sticks.
Very few knives will excel at all tasks, what is great for carving wood is rarely good for peeling veg or spreading jam!
Give it a try until you find the perfect knife (for me the F1 comes closest, but every once in a while, something new and shiny shows up and a waver for a while) and then I fall back on the No7 and my Lauri!
Neil

Ogri the trog

Mod
Mod
Apr 29, 2005
Mid Wales UK
CLEM said:
...so iam interested to know/learn what makes a good/ideal bushcraft knife as regards to blade size and blade shape?

Yup, Neil1 is right,