What came first

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

SMARTY

Nomad
May 4, 2005
UAE
www.survivalwisdom.com
This may have been done before but here goes anyway. I've been doing the survival thing for a few years now and it ocurred to me that the reason I find it relatively easy is because I am comfortable living in the field with little or no comforts. I put that down to the time spent in the army living for fairly long periods of time in different environmental regions with limited resources etc.

Any way it got me thinking, do bushcrafters make the best survivors OR are survivors the better bushcraft practitioners. Was a cave man survivilng or applying his form of bushcraft to make the best of his situation with the technology available at that time.

People with no bushcraft or survival training come through bad situations in a fairly good state and on the flipside there are cases of survival experts and bushcraft practitioners not fairing too well in similar circumstances.

No one in their right mind would deliberately put themselves in a survival situation, unless there is a safety system in place. But lots of folks go into the great outdoors to practice bushcraft.

Personally I think that bushcraft techniques led to survival skills that then led to bushcraft practice that then led to survival knowledge that led to bushcraft tools that then led to survival tools. As the bushcraft thing develops a survival application seems to fall out of it. As an old skill is re-discovered that skill is then adapted to apply to a survivall situation.

I will be very interested to hear your views on this.

Shewie

Mod
Mod
Dec 15, 2005
Yorkshire