Weekend intro bushcraft course......HELP.....which one???

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.
Hey all

I know this has been done to death so apologies from the start but a new thread with new OPINIONS is always a good thing (I think)!!

I'm new to bushcraft and therefore looking for a good weekend introductory course that will give a decent foundation before going out to practice and then onto a week course??

There are loads of schools all over the country and that's where the confusion starts. I have read loads of threads recommending certain schools (I think 3 standout) but wanted to get a new general OPINION of the best place to book?

Woodlore - I originally looked at the obvious Woodlore but on reading a couple of reviews I'm not particularly impressed with the content, especially as they are the most expensive but hey its Woodlore lmao.

Woodland Ways - They have some some superb reviews and on watching the promo video they seem to give a better foundation and to be more informative than Woodlore (oops). Ooh I like the fact they get you to prepare game as well. Yes, I know its a promo that's what its supposed to do lol.

Backwoods - Superb reviews again but a long long way, don't mind the journey if the course is right.

Is there any fundamental differences on how these courses are run or are certain schools geared more towards a particular market i.e corporate team building etc? As Im looking for the real deal, I'm sure everyone is.

Is there anyone that does one on one courses etc? What sort of cost is involved?

I live in the midlands (Brum, not all of it is a ####hole lol) but will travel anywhere.

Cheers in advance
Kev

Hope I don't upset the mods with this one lol!

Last edited:

Mesquite

It is what it is.
Mar 5, 2008
~Hemel Hempstead~
Have a look at Frontier Bushcrafts' Essential Bushcraft course