walnut oil

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

scarfell

Forager
Oct 4, 2016
south east
I've settled on walnut oil to finish my olive wood handles, wondering if its best to initially soak the handle in the oil, and then sand and do a few more coats?

Would warming and keeping the oil warm while soaking be better? Say around 50C, or would that compromise the epoxy (gorilla)

Or just apply coats/sand and repeat?

Cant find much specific info on walnut oil :-/

Nice65

Brilliant!
Apr 16, 2009
W.Sussex
For my bowls, beech and chestnut and olive wood I repeat coated several times. Then just put another coat on when they start to look a bit dry. Knife handles get Danish oil as it can be buffed. Whatever you use, be sparing with it or you'll end up with a sticky mess.

KenThis

Settler
Jun 14, 2016
Cardiff
I'm no expert but I've used tung oil on handles and have found warming oil and knife help the oil to penetrate.
I tend to warm the oil up and leave the knives somewhere warm then thoroughly coat the handle, leave the excess for 30 mins and then wipe off.
leave for a few days to dry and then repeat as required.

It's been mentioned on here and I've seen it said on other forums to oil "every day for a week, every week for a month, every month for a year and then every year for life."
That seems excessive to me but is probably of the order of necessary maintenance. ie. more to start with and less and less as required just to stop the wood drying out.

Macaroon

A bemused & bewildered
Jan 5, 2013
SE Wales
It's been mentioned on here and I've seen it said on other forums to oil "every day for a week, every week for a month, every month for a year and then every year for life."