Up to Scottyland. What to do, advice welcomed!

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Nick_S

Jan 2, 2007
Cornwall / Swindon
Hi all,

I'm very new to the whole Bushcraft scene, and what with living in Swindon at the moment, I'm finding it very difficult to find places and time to do stuff! Luckily, I'm escaping in a few weeks' time to go up the Black Isle in Northern Scotland.

I've got a Mora, a certain kind person bought me an SFA and I've also got all sorts of bits and bobs from my days in the cadet force (don't tell my QM!). I'll be living outside for two weeks and would welcome any and all advice or suggestions on what I should do with myself.

(By the way ... don't worry, I'm not just disappearing into the wilderness unprepared, I'm living with some friends in yurts, etc.)

I intend to to all sorts of plant identification, fire-making (friction, spark), shelter-building, cordage-making...

...but I'm sure the crowd here will have lots more ideas, as well as any other advice, no?

-N

Matt Weir

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jun 22, 2006
Tyldesley, Lancashire.
Hi Nick,

Sounds like a fine excursion planned. Don't forget to the important tasks of relaxing and chilling out amoungst your busy schedule ;)

Have fun,

Matt.

Scuba Pete

Forager
Nov 3, 2005
Glasgow
Well, make sure you bring lots of warm clothes and good wet weather gear.

Oh and when your up here don't call it Scottyland, the locals might not like it. lol

Scuba Pete

Forager
Nov 3, 2005
Glasgow
I speak from experience, I am english myself, moved up here a few years ago. There a good bunch, just don't get them started on english football and you will be ok.

Scuba Pete

Forager
Nov 3, 2005
Glasgow