UK army sleeping bag

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Bumblebee

Nomad
May 27, 2005
Here and there
Hi,

Which one of these UK ex-army sleeping bags would you recommended if the price is the same: 58 Pattern Sleeping Bag or Current Issue Sleep System? Both? None? I found them for a very attractive price online and since I just moved to the UK I have no knowledge about them.

I am 186cm tall (~6ft 2in) and plan to use it mid spring to mid autumn.

mercury

Forager
Jan 27, 2004
East Yorkshire England
Well the 58 pattern bag is down filled and has a waterproof base

The "new " issue bag is some sort of hollowfill and is known to some troops as the bouncing bomb

both are big both are heavy , the 58 pattern bags may have some down replacemnet needed

If you have a 58 bag then you can use it in conjunction with a british army poncho to create a waterproof cover

But having said that they are both warm and well made

Brian

Settler
Nov 6, 2003
Saltburn
Both bags are fairly good as long as they are in good condition, they are quite bulky if your carrying them any distance and the new issue bag can be a bit warm for my liking.

Brian

OhCanada

Forager
Feb 26, 2005
Eastern Canada
Don't know how popular they are over there but...

There is an item called a vapour barrier liner that is either nylon coated with polyurathane or the newer Sil/nylon material. I have the slightly heavier and cheaper nylon-coat as it came in a forest green while the Silnylon is a bright blue.