tracking

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

drewdunnrespect

On a new journey
Aug 29, 2007
teesside
www.drewdunnrespect.com
dear all you expert trackers out there

3 questions

first one

can you use the red laggy bands from the royal mail as tracking rings if not what do you use

second one any good books for begginers that i should read cos would like to get in to tracking but wouldnt no one track from another if they hit me in the face so bare in mind i am a no nothing on subject newbie to this art.

third question is how is best to get started in such a subject

cheers for the help in advance

drew

Pierr

Forager
Sep 15, 2008
France
Hi,

I'm also new to the topic. Please bear in mind.

I found "Animal Tracks ID and Techniques" by Ian Maxwell simple and no-nonsense. It is very basic (100 pages, mostly pictures of the prints and of their pressure marks) but I doubt any book can really do more on the matter. It is very lightweight which is a plus to me. It did help me spot and id some tracks in the woods (but I completely fail at following a track).

But of course a book will only be a basic help. I decided to follow the course by the same Ian Maxwell, happening in around 3 weeks in Dartmoor. I will report how it went.

JonathanD

Ophiological Genius
Sep 3, 2004
Stourton,UK
I think alot of people use the red docking bands for sheep. Docking bands? I can't think of the right words, help me out guys, castration bands?

Spaniel man

Native
Apr 28, 2007
Somerset
In answer to your questions:

1. PM me your address, and I'll send you a load of castration rings.They work well.