tinder shavings

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

mr dazzler

Native
Aug 28, 2004
uk
Hello everybody from me new member Mr Dazzler. I am new to this survival/bushcraft stuff although I did a lot of outdoor stuff at school and in the scouts years ago. I've got some very good re-conditioned axes that are good enough to plane with (single bevel), and aim to build me a decent puukko-type knife (from a kit to start with) I read somewhere about a bloke who examines his axe/knife edges with a magnifier to check the quality. I had a (well knackered) camera which I butchered for its lenses. I was just going to keep the main ones to use for fire starting/edge testing (what a world opens up when you magnify a "sharp" edge even just 4 or 5 times!) However the best one turned out to be the tiny little viewfinder one which is only about 10mm long with a little "handle". It is about 8 or 10x mag. Using this tiny little lens and a geber diamond file I've rejuvenated most of my kitchen knives, and my 2 best axes are now even better. (but I still use a norton stone or waterstones for planes and chisels) What has all this to do with tinder shavings you ask?? :?: :roll: Well, I had just sharpened my best smoothing plane and was polish finishing some beech and some oak (I don't believe in sanded finishes only finely polish-planed ones cos the dust agravates me) The shavings were sooo thin and delicate (no where near the thickness of a rizler paper) I suddenly thought that'd make great tinder. I tried it with a lens and it worked in seconds. If I ever need to I'll maybe fill a baccy pouch with ash or birch shreds from my polishing plane.

Squidders

Aug 3, 2004
Harrow, Middlesex
Maybe good advice for perfectly good, dry tinder...