Tetanus jabs

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Adi007

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Sep 3, 2003
Hi!

Anyone know what the current accepted thinking on multiple tetanus jabs is? The reception I get swings between "Oh my god, you've had THAT many tetanus jabs" to "Here you go, don't say I don't give you anything".

bambodoggy

Nov 10, 2004
Surrey
www.stumpandgrind.co.uk
Hey Adi....I'm no doctor so can't tell you anything other than my own experience...

I used to work with Police and Service dogs a while ago and was forever getting nipped... and off I'd go to the Doc's for my next jab....I must have had about 6 or 7...maybe a few more (I've been having them since I was in Cubs!). The last time I went for one I was in with the nurse and the Doc popped his head in and mentioned that after you've had 5 (or 6...can't be sure) then you're done for life and don't need anymore...
I had the one for that day and since then haven't had another....

Toddy

Mod
Mod
Jan 21, 2005
S. Lanarkshire
Digging as I do terrifies my doctor (I have allergies :cry: ) so he insisted on a course of tetanus injections. No1 swelled up like a duck egg, No2 left my arm useless for a week, No3 never happened. He said I wouldn't need any more since I was obviously fighting it just fine. :?: :lol:

That said, one of the guys I worked with nagged the face off every archaeology student to get their jabs. His sister died of tetanus and that wasn't very long ago. :cry:

Be safe people, it's a nasty way to die, at least talk to your doctor about it.

Toddy

Wayne

Mod
Mod
Dec 7, 2003
West Sussex
www.forestknights.co.uk
Wise words Toddy. The current views of medical experts changes so rapidly though its hard to keep up.