Tarp/Basha help

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

humdrum_hostage

Jul 19, 2014
Stradishall, Suffolk
In a few months the name Humdrum_Hostage will no longer desribe my life as my fiancee, my 2 1/2 year old boy and I are moving from the current lifestyle of me working 55 hours a week in west london, 6 days a week, being out of the house 12+ hours a day. we are moving to Suffolk and I am going to be taking over an established garden maintenance/odd job business and be living rent free while we get our feet on the ground and clear debts.

So the plan is to send a lot more time with my boy..... outside in the woods!

my question is... I am looking at getting a Tarp/basha (i think) to make a temporary shelter in the woods, mainly for the days to begin with then hopefully nights in the near future. I am a complete novice so do not know what to buy. Would a £5 DPM tarp on Ebane be any good? would it rip, leak..... or am I better off getting something better and more versatile with the poles?

I have seen a few Bashas being sold on here but I am always too slow. If anyone has anything available please let me know.

Chris

Ogri the trog

Mod
Mod
Apr 29, 2005
Mid Wales UK
The cheap "builders tarps" will get the job done but might turn out to be noisy when trying to sleep under them - they might also rip or tear if you get a nick in it. There are loads to choose from and many different materials for them to be made from.

I would recommend trying to get along to a local meet-up and seeing what styles/sizes/materials/set-ups are available and speaking with owners as to their good & not so good points.

ATB

Ogri the trog

Macaroon

A bemused & bewildered
Jan 5, 2013
SE Wales