Starting carving

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

cranmere

Settler
Mar 7, 2014
Somerset, England
I'm a lifelong bushcrafter (over 50 years now which makes me feel very old) with all sorts of useful skills, but I've never tried wood carving. I've seen the wood spirits thread and I fancy having a go and I want to make a staff and a spoon and - you get the idea. I'm completely ignorant of where to start and what tools I need. Can anyone make recommendations please?

Mesquite

It is what it is.
Mar 5, 2008
~Hemel Hempstead~
A staff can be done with an ordinary knife same as a spoon.

However carving the bowl of the spoon would be aided by having a good spoon knife. You can get one from Dave Budd, Dell Stubbs, Ray Iles, Ben Orford

JonE

Forager
Apr 11, 2014
Oxfordshire
Hi,

I'm new to Bushcraft and carving but have just finished a few spoons I used an axe for roughing out the blank then a cheap Hultafors knife for some more material removal before finishing off with a Swiss army knife, the bowls were carved with a Mora spoon knife.

I have since got a couple of new "proper" wood carving knives which are nice but definitely not necessary.

So to answer your questions I'd say apart from a spoon knife you've probably already got the tools you need for carving a spoon, there are loads of really good videos on YouTube that I have found very helpful.

Cheers

Jon

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

mousey

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jun 15, 2010
NE Scotland