some more carvings

woodspirits

Bushcrafter (boy, I've got a lot to say!)
Jul 24, 2009
West Midlands UK
www.facebook.com
apologies if i seem to be flooding this thread with pics, but i just wanted to show you this Woodspirit i carved yesterday. Rowan standing 17" and flat back, the grain is really nice and lifts the carving i feel. the other is Rowan too and is a W/S themed wand. tried the lottery numbers, doesn't work! thanks for looking :)

woodspirits

Jul 24, 2009
West Midlands UK
www.facebook.com
They are great, any chance you could let us in on your techniques? I'm new to carving and would love to try a spirit

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

thanks for asking Chris, i did put something together about 4 years ago it is now gathering dust in the BCUK articles archive. either that or pop down to a North Wood meet just 40 minutes drive and ask away :)

Last edited:

Chris the Fish

Forager
Dec 5, 2009
Stoney Stanton, Leics
Thanks for the link woodspirit, I'll have a good look and see what I can come up with. As for the meet, unfortunately I work shifts and that's one of my weekends working. I will keep my beady eye on the future meets as its not to far for me and it would be great to get to a social.

Thanks again 😊

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

woodspirits

Jul 24, 2009
West Midlands UK
www.facebook.com
Very cool.

I've done several wood spirits in the last year - the Grandkids seem to like them on walking sticks - but they always come out looking very sad or perhaps judgemental. Any tips on making a more jolly wood spirit?