Sharpening steels - why not?

• Hey Guest, Early bird pricing on the Summer Moot (29th July - 10th August) available until April 6th, we'd love you to come. PLEASE CLICK HERE to early bird price and get more information.

Elliott

Tenderfoot
Jul 25, 2004
Dorset
I am a complete novice when it comes to edge sharpening - hence the question so please no flaming.

I wondered why I should prefer to use a stone verses a sharpening steel (that I use for kitchen knives), afterall chefs/butchers use them all the time.

Is there a specific reason why I should purchase a stone for my bushcraft knife when my steel does a grand job on food prep knives?

Hope someone can enlighten me constructively

Elliott

Hoodoo

Nov 17, 2003
Michigan, USA
A sharpening hone works good on knives on the lower to intermediate end of the Rockwell scale like those knives you find in the kitchen. Gives a great toothy edge for slicing meat and veges. Works great on opinels too. If your knife is on the higher end of the Rockwell, the sharpening hone is less effective. It also leaves an edge that can roll or dull quickly when carving harder material like wood. For harder blades, a stone and strop will give you an edge that will last longer, especially when you are cutting harder materials. You can also use a plain (nonsharpening) steel on harder blades to remove a burr and/or keep the edge aligned.

Simon

Nomad
Jul 22, 2004
Addington, Surrey
steels are not for sharpening .. they are for realigning the rolled edge... this works fine on a thin profile knife like chef's knives ..... it's not so effective on utility knives with thicker section .. it will work to an extent ... but not as effectively as on a chef's knife ...... a stone or some of the other alternatives will help you maintain the aesthetics of your grind lines ..... unless you seriously mash your edge a fine stone will do .. with a stone you have more control over angle

Ed

Admin
Admin
Aug 27, 2003
South Wales Valleys